We believe...


We believe that stories better help us better understand the world. Stories challenge us, teach us, and inspire us.


When we read books together, we have a common bond that serves as a basis for discussion, exploration, and activism. We want to share that idea.

Young people around Charlottesville will receive copies of Angie Thomas’s novel, The Hate U Give. Students will engage them in discussions, forums, and other programming that will allow them to process and respond to the novel with one another. The project will bring together students from public and independent middle and high schools, as well as the University of Virginia, and community members. Building unity will allow us to understand one another, and to take action to move forward as a stronger, more inclusive community.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Supported by Charlottesville

Your donations purchased a special printing of 2,500 copies of The Hate U Give, dedicated specially to Charlottesville, and will sponsor the associated programming aimed at bringing our neighborhoods together.


We thank the following individuals for supporting Cville OneBook and our community:

Amanda Coackerell, Hollins University

Angie Thomas, Author The Hate U Give

Gillian Wise, Special Markets at Harper Colliins

Cameron Mowat, Advisor CACF

John Halliday, Director JMRL (retired)

Susan Bro, Heather Heyer Foundation

Dhonielle Clayton, CAKE Literary, WNDB

Hillary Homzie, Author, Professor

Dr. Rosa Atkins, Superintendent, CCS

David Plunkett, Director JMRL

Jennifer McGraw, ELA Chair, CCS

OneBook Committee:

Anne Ernst, Library Media Specialist, CCS

Tim Carrier, YA Services Manager, JMRL

Maureen Jensen, Lead Coach for ELA , ACPS

Paula Archey, Library Media Specialist, Western Albemarle, ACPS

Sarah Lawson, Assistant Director, VA Center for the Book

Neeley Minton, Curriculum Coach, CCS

Stephanie Passman, LTI at ACPS

Amber Loyacano, ELA Department Chair,
Waynesboro High School

Sarah Fitzhenry, Library Media Specialist,
St. Anne's-Bellfield School

Bellamy Shoffner, Youth Programming Associate at VA Center for the Book

Mack McLellan, Ob Portus Motivation, Boys & Girls Clubs of Charlottesville

Nancy O’Brien, community member